Media Gallery

Scenes from the sixth annual Teen Poetry Slam, held on March 16, 2017. Thank you for Betty-Lou Griffin for the photos:

2017 poets

Aliza Pelto from E.O.Smith High School

Eliza Browning from Tolland High School

Uno Hills from E.O. Smith High School


Abby Lateer from Tolland High School


Sonika Kohli from Tolland High School


Mary Singer from Tolland High School

Sara Carey from Tolland Middle School

Zoe Livingston of Tolland High School


Rachel Horowitz-Benoit of E.O. Smith High School

Scorekeeper Jan Rubino and timekeeper Cliff Vachon of the Tolland Public Library Foundation board of directors


Host James MacArthur with second-place winner Rachel Horowitz-Benoit

The judges conferred

The winners, left to right: second-place, Sonika Kohli; winner Sara Carey, and third place, Rachel Horowitz-Benoit

The E.O.Smith poets with their poetry club advisor Liza Escott






Poet Jen Kiely

Poet Jen Kiely

The Foundation has provided numerous grants to the Tolland Public Library for events, including its first poetry slam on April 27, 2012.

Poet Zack LaSala

Poet Zack LaSala